Home   Whats On   Article

Penultimate show in Cambridge Classical Concert series

Nikita Boriso-Glebsky ANL-160427-155921001
Nikita Boriso-Glebsky ANL-160427-155921001

The acclaimed Moscow State Symphony Orchestra presents an evening of classical music by some of Russia’s greatest composers at Cambridge Corn Exchange on Wednesday, May 18.

Pavel Kogan conducts this penultimate concert in the 2015/16 Cambridge Classical Concert Series, with soloist Nikita Boriso-Glebsky performingf Shostakovich’s fiery Violin Concerto No. 1.

The concert opens with Prokofiev’s Russian Overture and concludes triumphantly with Rachmaninov’s Symphony No. 2.

A pre-concert talk takes place at 6pm at Heffers Bookshop in nearby Trinity Street, free of charge to concert ticket holders.

The series ends on Thursday, June 9 when Corn Exchange Artist in Residence Dame Evelyn Glennie plays alongside the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, including a new work to celebrate the award-winning percussionist’s 50th birthday year.

This concert also features the culmination of a music education project involving students from Cambridgeshire, a project that has involved Dame Evelyn working closely with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra’s outreach wing, RPO resound.

Individual concert tickets are available from £28.50 to £38.50, with tickets just £12.50 for students and under 16s and £17.50 for groups of more than 20.

To book tickets call 01223 357851 or visit www.cornex.co.uk.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More