Home   Sport   Article

Three-time champs have edge

DOWNHILL: Sudbury's Gary Mays (left) and Nigel Ross in action on Sunday
DOWNHILL: Sudbury's Gary Mays (left) and Nigel Ross in action on Sunday

The final round of the Dave Barkshire Two Man Enduro Championship took place at the historic track of Little Loveney Hall, Wakes Colne.

The event was organised by the Halstead and District Motorcycle Club (HDMCC) who ran a similar event several years ago jointly with their neighbours Sudbury.

The course was partly on the motocross track with tight twists and turns of the track and proved very challenging in the morning session for the 42 teams.

There were four teams in the Championship Class consisting of the 2013 winners Tom Braddock/Toby Morley and local riders from Halstead, Sudbury and Colchester of Brendon Mayers/Joe Marsh, Craig Roper/Rob Blackman and Jamie Roper/Stevie Roper, the latter who have won the solo title three times each.

There was a fierce battle through the day between these four teams and at the end of the morning session Roper/Roper were leading on 33 laps while the other three teams were on 31 laps.

However, in the drier afternoon session it was a different story with Roper/Blackman completing 35 laps, Roper/Roper and Mayers/Marsh both on 34 laps and Braddock/Morley 32 laps.

After time penalties were deducted it was Roper/Roper 65.75 laps in first, Roper/Blackman 64.75 laps second and Mayers/Marsh 63.5 laps third, while Braddock/Morley 63 laps came in fourth.

With the championship class title already won by Aston Bird/Carl Grantham, it left the battle for second and third.

Provisionally, second place has gone to the Halstead pairing of Mayers/Marsh on 49 points, beating Braddock/Morley by one point.

The expert class was just as competitive with Sam Mitchell/Harry Clark riding together for the first time, completing 32 laps in the morning session followed by Kevin Palmer/Ben Grice and Alex Walton/Jamie Lagden both on 31 laps and behind them on 30 laps were Ross Taylor/Michael Ridge and Rob Aldridge/Ed Pooley.

Mitchell/Clark continued in the afternoon session, leading the field and completed 35 laps with Palmer/Grice, Dan Richardson/Mark Relland, Aldridge/Pooley and Walton/Lagden on 33 laps.

After late time penalties it was a win for Mitchell/Clark 65.75 laps, from Aldridge/Pooley 62.5 laps, and Palmer/Grice 61.75 laps third and Richardson/Relland 61.5 laps fourth.

With Aldridge/Pooley having already won the expert title on 87 points while Martin and David Stevens are second with 64 points and Kieron Snowling/Mark Sharman third on 58 points.

It was a win for Dan Willis/Chris Wright in the clubman class completing 59.75 laps, with Karl/Aaron Graves 58.75 laps second, Matt Smith/Marc Norton 57 laps were third and fourth was Phil Whiting/Perry Miller 55.75 laps.

Willis/Wright has won the clubman class with 97 points with the Sudbury veteran pairing of Whiting/Miller second with 58 points and third Kevin Gore/Dale Wiseman on 56 points.

An added attraction was sub classes and it was a win for Phil Roper/Paul Belton in the expert veteran on 58.75 laps, second was Graham Mays/Nigel Ross 55.75 laps and third was Tim Ford/Jeff Sharp 53.5 laps.

It was a welcome return for Jeff Sharp who suffered two heart attacks in March, and it took 29 minutes to bring him back to life.

In the clubman veteran sub class, first went to Less Rampton/Martin Greenaway 54.75 laps, second Martin Gunton/Gavin Potter 50.75 laps, third Andrew Richards/Mark Plouman 50.25 laps, fourth Paul Wright/Stuart Flatman 48.75 laps and fifth Philip and Peter Barltrop 48.25 laps.

Wayne Miller/Paul Manning were the only team in the clubman super veteran sub class and were declared winners on 47.25 laps while John Austin was the only rider in the Ironman (Solo) class completing 57 laps.

n Now watch a video of Sunday’s action on our website www.suffolkfreepress.co.uk where you can see more pictures

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More