Home   Sport   Article

Solid start after Roper secures a third place finish

Latest sport news from the Suffolk Free Press, suffolkfreepress.co.uk, @sfpsudbury on Twitter
Latest sport news from the Suffolk Free Press, suffolkfreepress.co.uk, @sfpsudbury on Twitter

Sudbury Motorcycle Club’s Jamie Roper claimed third place in the opening round of the GH Motorcycles/Husqvarana/ACU Eastern Enduro Championships.

There was the usual large entry from top British riders for the Championship class at Thetford Forest, with Brad Freeman winning for the second year running ahead of Joe Wootton and the best Eastern region rider, Roper.

Sudbury riders Chris Hockey (eighth), Craig Roper (11th), Rich Roper (12th) and Stevie Roper (13th) were also in the points, while Halstead duo Jason Morland (ninth) and Brendon Mayers (14th) finished well.

There was a surprise second place for Sudbury’s Alex Rampton in the Expert class, with fellow club riders Ryan McDonnell (eighth), Jack Berry (ninth), Jack Arnold (10th) and Kevin Silvain (14th) also in the points.

In the Expert Veteran class, Sudbury’s Gavin Hockey (second) finished ahead of club mates Phil Roper (third), Richard Walters (12th), Paul Belton (13th) and Philip Waldron (15th).

Nathan Greenaway looked on course to win the Clubman class for Sudbury, but his machine played up on the last lap and dropped him down to 27th, with Ben Ramus (second) leading the Sudbury charge with Alex Walton (fourth), Lee Monger (eighth), Daniel Piper (13th) and Ben Roper (15th).

Elsewhere, Sudbury riders Jason Carboult (third), Jeff Turner (fifth), Dean Curry (ninth) and Jeff Sharp (10th) scored points in the Clubman Veteran class.

It was at this event last year that Sharp suffered his first heart attack, and was not aware of it until he had his second one a few weeks later, where it took paramedics 29 minutes to revive him and he was the worthy winner of the club’s Spirit of Motorcycle Sport Trophy.

Sudbury’s Andy Mason had to settle for second in the Clubman’s Super Veteran class ahead of club mates Graham Mays (third), Les Rampton (fourth), Nigel Ross (eighth), Gary Drage (ninth) and Chris Ginn (14th).

Nick Jackson and Richard Beadle claimed sixth and seventh places respectively in the Sportsman Class.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More