Skipper’s efforts recognised

EARLS Colne Cricket Club stars of 2011 were rewarded at the club’s annual presentation evening.

Club skipper David Brooker picked up the Saturday XI batting trophy as well as the clubman of the year award which goes to the member who has made a special contribution during the year.

The bowling award went to Lee Parish while the fielding award went to wicketkeeper Johnny Lee.

Harry Callaghan took the fielding and batting awards for the Sunday XI with skipper Joe Smith being presented with the bowling trophy.

The Peter Sycamore Trophy for Colts was awarded to Oliver Callaghan.

The presentation evening following a fund-raising auction which made more than £1,600 towards a club project for new net facilities for practice.

Secretary John Perfect said: “It was a highly successful evening and we would like to thank all businesses and individuals who donated lots.”

The club is also planning a third XI next year to play friendly matches.

Further information from John Perfect on 07803 964913.