Home   Sport   Article

Morris makes his England Under-17s bow in Portugal

Colne Engaine’s Ben Morris is shooting for the stars after winning his first England Under-17s caps in The Algarve Tournament in Portugal.

The competition was a disappointing one overall for Steve Cooper’s side as they failed to win a game on the continental development tournament, their 2-0 defeat to the Netherlands in Parchal Tuesday coming off the back of two draws.

But for Ipswich Town’s young hotshot striker Morris it will live long in the memory, having made his debut and picked up two further caps.

Morris’ U17s bow came in the 1-1 draw against Algarve Tournament hosts Portugal on Friday, playing 75 minutes up front.

The Ipswich Town academy scholar has been in fine form for their U18s this season, leading the goalscoring charts and was rewarded with the national call-up.

The 16-year-old came off the bench in the Young Lions’ second match, as Germany came from behind following a Geroge Hirst first-half brace to secure a draw in stoppage time in Lagos on Sunday.

Morris, who was in Cooper’s squad along with fellow Ipswich scholars Andre Dozzell — who captained the side — and Nick Hayes, was back in the starting XI to lead the line for Tuesday’s calsh with the Netherlands in Parchal.

Two second-half goals ultimately proved enough for the Dutch. After a close first half which resulted in no goals, the opener came six minutes after the restart when Tahith Chong of Feyenoord netted.

And the Dutch built on that with a quickfire second from striker Dylan Vente, also of Feyenoord, in the 52nd minute.

Morris can now set his sights on looking to cement his place in Cooper’s starting XI ahead of next month’s Euro Elite Qualifying Round on home soil, where they face Turkey, Ukraine and Finland.

England: 22 Adam Parkes (Southampton); 2 Japhet Tanganga (Tottenham), 12 Josh Tymon (Hull), 6 Tolaja Bola (Arsenal), 3 Jaden Brown (Tottenham Hotspur); 11 Samuel Shashoua (Tottenham), 8 Dennis Adeniran (Fulham), 4 Andre Dozzell (Ipswich) (c), 15 Elliot Embleton (Sunderland), 18 Rahis Nabi (West Bromwich Albion ); 10 Ben Morris (Ipswich)

Subs: 5 Edward Francis (Manchester City) for Bola 41, 16 Mackenzie Heaney (Newcastle) for Embleton 41, 17 George Tanner (Man Utd) for Nabi 50, 14 Simranjit Thandi (Leicester) for Tymon 55, 9 George Hirst (Sheff Weds) for Morris 60.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More