Whiting blows in after Hurricane Jude

editorial image

With Newton Green Golf Club’s Junior Open having to be put back two days due to last week’s storm, Haverhill’s Lewis Whiting blew away the competition with an impressive one-under-par 68.

Whiting, who earlier in the year was runner-up in the 36-hole Suffolk Amateur Championship, also helped Edward Halpin and Fiona Stokes win for the Haverhill club the major team prize of the day, the Aldous Cup.

With an impressive original entry of 70-plus, the Newton event had been planned for the day Hurricane Jude swept through Suffolk.

Fortunately, the home club took notice of the weather forecast, putting the championship back to last Wednesday.

It meant 20 from the original field could not take part, but the day still provided some high-class junior golf, with a 72 from Joshua Robertson, of Ufford Park, putting him in second place, and Paul Waring, of Felixstowe, winner for the previous two years, third on 73.

In the net scores competition, the home club’s Ellie Aldous came home first with a level-par 71, beating fellow Newton player Max Hemson on countback.

Results: Gross scores: 68 Lewis Whiting (Haverhill), 72 Joshua Robertson (Ufford Park), 73 Paul Waring (Felixstowe).

Division 1 (net scores): 71 Ellie Aldous (Newton), 69 Max Hemson (Newton) on count back, 69 Jack Levermore (Aldeburgh).

Division 2 (Stableford): 39 Tom Fowler (Ipswich), 37 Luke Middleton (Ipswich), 34 Edward Halpin (Haverhill).

Division 3 (Stableford): 40 Will Smith (Ufford), 39 Alex Ashworth (Newton), 38 Max Adams (Bury St Edmunds).

Nearest pin: Division 1: Lewis Whiting; Division 2: Tom Fowler (Ipswich).

Longest drive: Division 1: Laurence Staff (Aldeburgh); Division 2: Tom Fowler; Division 3: Max Adams.

Putting: Division 1: Connor Talbot (Newton); Division 2: Oliver Robertson (Ufford); Division 3: Luke Robinson (Newton).

Chipping: Division 1: Robert Salter (Hintlesham) and Matthew O’Doherty (Stowmarket); Division 2: Traven Abbott (Fynn Valley); Division 3: Max Adams and Luke Robinson.

Aldous Cup: 1 Lewis Whiting, Edward Halpin and Fiona Stokes (Haverhill), 2 Alex Ashworth, Ben Uttridge and Harvey Watts (Newton).