Sudbury Motorcycle Club riders lead the way

Latest sport news from the Suffolk Free Press,, @sfpsudbury on Twitter
Latest sport news from the Suffolk Free Press,, @sfpsudbury on Twitter
Share this article

Round five of the G H Motorcycles/Husaberg/Eastern Centre Solo Enduro Championship saw six Sudbury Motor Cycle Club’s riders in the Championship Class points, seven in the Expert Class points and five in the Clubman Class points.

They dominated the Championship Class with Jamie Roper first, Chris Hockey second, Sam Toy third, Ian Parker seventh, Craig Roper eighth and Steve Mason ninth.

This was Toy’s best result since being upgraded from the Expert Class.

In the Expert Class, Phil Roper finished fourth, with Jason Warren, Gareth Young, Jez Moss, Stephen Green, Graham Mays and Paul Belton ninth, 10th, 11th, 12th, 13th and 14th respectively.

Team Dave Roper (TDR) member James Hockey followed up from scoring points in round four in the Clubman Class with a ninth place and two other TDR members, Ryan McDonnell and Jack Nicolaou, 11th and 15th.

The other two Sudbury riders to score points were Mark Fenwick 10th and Ben Ramus 12th.

The unofficial positions in the Championship contest has Chris Hockey top with 79 points, Jamie Roper second with 69, Jason Morland (Halstead) third with 63, Tom Braddock (Lowestoft) fourth with 51 and Steve Mason fifth with 45.

The contest is decided on the rider’s best five scores over the six rounds, and this weekend is the final round at Acle, organised by the Lowestoft Club, and for the third year running the champion will be either Hockey or Roper.

Hockey’s worst position was fourth (13 points) and any position he finishes above fourth will have 13 points deducted, while Roper has only ridden four rounds and all points he scores will count.

There are several permutations between Hockey and Roper as to who will be champion, and as Hockey has a 10-point lead he must be favourite to win and rewrite the history books with 10 titles.

Phil Roper has an outside chance of winning the Expert contest, but it would need current leader Tim Rose to fail to score and Roper to win on the day.

There are no Sudbury riders in contention for the Clubman contest, so the focus will be Team Dave Roper members. James Hockey leads with 401 points.

Other placings: 2 Jack Nicolaou 340 points, 3 Ryan McDonnell 229 points, 4 Matt Rampton 208 points, 5 George Warren 197 points, 6 Ben Roper 136 points.