Riders fight through head wind

ONE LAST PUSH: Cycle Club Sudbury's Darren Rule is roared on by fellow competitors at Semer on Sunday
ONE LAST PUSH: Cycle Club Sudbury's Darren Rule is roared on by fellow competitors at Semer on Sunday
Share this article

Ipswich Bicycle Club dominated Cycle Club Sudbury’s annual hill climb at Semer on Sunday, taking the individual honour and team trophy.

Graham Collins was fastest up Watson’s Hill, with a time of 51.2 seconds, well adrift of the course record of 43.4, but an excellent time given the riders in a record field of 48 all faced a strong headwind.

Daniel Zagni (Ipswich BC), last year’s winner, was second in 52.4, with Graham Knott (Colchester Rovers CC) third in 53.0.

Patrick Cook (Ipswich BC) took fourth place in 53.6, giving Ipswich BC a combined two minutes 37.2 seconds to take the team honours.

Brit Tate (GB Cycles) was first lady in one minute 0.7 seconds, with Helen Eborall (Born to Bike — Bridgetown Cycles) second in 1.07.0, and Nicola Soden (Champion System Maxgear RT) third in 1.08.8.

Fastest junior was Stowmarket and District CC’s James Ormond in 1.02.9.

James Rush was the leading rider for the host club, taking fifth place in 54.2secs.

Simon Benson and Matthew Shinn were joint fastest Boxford Bike Club riders, both recording 1.02.8.

Paul Moss was fastest Stowmarket and District CC rider in 58.2secs. Martin Gale, the only entry from West Suffolk Wheelers, recorded 1.13.4.

Results: CC Sudbury: James Rush 54.2, Darren Rule 58.6, Simon Wright 59.7, Nick Baker 1.00.8, Darren Pratt 1.03.1, Ashton Dyson 1.06.9, Daniel Upton 1.07.3, Doz Bree 1.09.9, Mike Garnham 1.19.8

Boxford Bike Club. Simon Benson 1.02.8, Matthew Shinn 1.02.8, Simon Daniel 1.05.4, Richard Porter 1.12.6.

Stowmarket and District CC: Paul Moss 58.2, Adrian Pettitt 59.0, James Ormond 1.02.9, Phil Barrett 1.10.6, Robert Smith 1.16.0

West Suffolk Wheelers. Martin Gale 1.13.4.

Ipswich BC: Graham Collins 51.2, Daniel Zagni 52.4, Patrick Cook 53.6, Tim Snook 55.3, Peter Ingram 55.8, Shaun Andrews 56.9, Anthony Birt 1.01.0, Sam Gibson 1.03.1, Adam Keer 1.04.3, Andrew Kennedy 1.08.0, Oliver Jones 1.11.8, Stephen Searby 1.18.3, Leon Thompson 1.19.6.

Cambridge Cycle Club: Chris Pearce 58.4, Ralph Keeler 59.7.

Colchester Rovers CC: Graham Knott 53.0, Greg Andrews 56.0, Jim Clayton 59.4, Mike Smith 1.00.4.

GB Cycles: Brit Tate 1.00.7, Sandra Mackay 1.10.9, Iona Sewell 1.17.7

Wolsey RC: Michael Remblance 1.02.2, Cliff Matthews 1.07.5.

Others: Adrian McTigue (Plomesgate CC) 55.1, Jack Payne (Anglia Velo) 55.6, Ian Short (API Metrow Foods) 1.04.9, Helen Eborall (Born to Bike – Bridgetown Cycles) 1.07.0, Nicola Soden (Champion System Maxgear RT) 1.08.8.