Notley are Div Three champs

BLACK Notley F are the new champions of Division Three of the Braintree Table Tennis League. Two 7-3 wins, one over their own H team and the other against Rayne I, put them beyond the reach of their pursuers and maintained their unbeaten record.

All five of their players contributed to the wins. Chris Parr was unbeaten against the H team, Ian Wallace unbeaten against Rayne I. Victor Chan picked up three wins out of six while Matt Wallace won two against Notley H and Tom Brown one against Rayne I.

Just below them, Felsted RBL and Rayne H have swapped places regularly for most of the season, and had another close tussle in their latest encounter before Rayne H emerged with a 6-4 win. In their next match, Felsted turned that scoreline around against Notley I. Ian Butler was unbeaten in both matches.

Notley I earlier lost 9-1 to Notley H. Regan Farley-Hearn took the I team’s point with a good win over Alan Cook. Oliver Hicks won his three singles in Notley G’s 7-3 win over Netts C, while Nick Osborne and Tom Richards picked up rare singles wins in Stebbing’s 8-2 defeat by Rayne J.

In division one, leaders Netts A had a comfortable 8-2 win over Rayne A, a result that enabled Notley A to jump above Rayne after a 10-0 win over Sible Hedingham.

Liberal stretched five sets to five games against Notley B but their only victory came from a Barry Pritchard fightback against Steve Buer, who had taken the first two ends.

Rayne C got the better of their own B team for the third time this season and for the second time by 8-2. Jon Hill was unbeaten.

Men’s singles semi-finalist Kevin Gowlett went two stages better at the Clacton League finals when he took the title for the second time in five years.

Never at his best in the Braintree championships, Gowlett was in sparkling form by the coast, knocking out reigning champion Greg Green 11-3, 11-4, 11-8 in the semi final and then overcoming former champion Gary Young 14-12, 11-4, 5-11, 11-5 in the final.