Last trophies decided at league’s finals night

editorial image
Share this article

The Industrial Electrical 
Service Sudbury and District Bar Billiards League held a very successful finals night at The Thatchers Arms.

Around 40 league players were in attendance, along with fellow spectators.

The outcomes of two trophies were still outstanding and the evening commenced with the semi-finals of the singles knockout.

The first last-four match to be played was between Dick Cheshire (The Saracens) and Luke Cole-Watts (Memphis Belles), with the latter taking early control and running out an easy 1280-180 winner.

In the final he was to meet Melvin Tilbury (Hadleigh Eight Bells) , who coasted to victory against Nick Cheshire (The Saracens) 1710-480.

The final saw a tactical start with several balls placed near the baulk line, but gradually Tilbury asserted his authority and had his opponent chasing the game to no avail with the Eight Bells man taking the trophy with an emphatic 1160-130 victory.

The doubles final was between Doedy Munson and Melvyn Willis (Edwardstone Wild Horses) and Jason Lawrence and Chris Drake (The Bay Horse).

Good consistent play by the Wild Horse pair saw them build an early advantage, which the Bay Horse duo were unable to haul back with the eventual score ending 1280-570.

The league gave special thanks go to Stuart and Debbie Fraser for hosting the evening, Tracy Reeve with her willing band of helpers for selling the raffle tickets and landlord Stuart for kindly presenting the trophies.

The season’s trophy winners were as follows: Eric Clarke Memorial Shield: Graham Rolfe (Hadleigh Eight Bells); Runners-up Dennis Watts (Mauldons Adders), Steve Richardson; Doubles: Graham Rolfe and David Stiff (Hadleigh Eight Bells); Runners-up: Lee Harman and Elaine Wright (Stanningfield Red House), Landlords Cup: Chris Drake (The Bay Horse); Runners-up John Henderson (Stanningfield Red House); Ladies’ Knock-Out Cup: Alice Kendall (The Bay Horse); Runners-up Victoria Cook (The Thatchers Arms); Leading Lady: Tracy Reeve (Edwardstone Wild Horses); Gents’ Highest Break: Steve Hale 2020 (The Bay Horse A); Ladies’ Highest Break: Alice Kendall 940 (The Bay Horse B); League’s Highest Game Score: Chris Day 5220 (The Bay Horse B); League Singles: Melvin Tilbury (Hadleigh Eight Bells); Runners-up: Luke Cole-Watts (Memphis Belles); League Doubles: Doedy Munson and Melvyn Willis (Edwardstone Wild Horses); Runners-up Jason Lawrence and Chris Drake (The Bay Horse); Player of the Year: Chris Day (The Bay Horse B); Captains Cup: Melvin Tilbury; (Hadleigh Eight Bells); Knock-Out Cup Winners: The Bay Horse A; Runners-up: The Saracens; League champions: The Saracens; Runners-up The Bay Horse A.

The league AGM takes place tonight at Edwardstone White Horse, commencing at 8.30 pm, and pubs and clubs who wish to join the league next season are reminded they must be represented at this meeting or have contacted the secretary on 01473 824017 prior to the meeting.