Father and son come out on top at awards evening

No Caption ABCDE
No Caption ABCDE

Father-and-son duo Rob and Jack Davies were among the prize winners at Cycle Club Sudbury’s annual dinner and presentation evening.

Rob Davies picked up the prestigious Club Rider of the Year trophy as well as the 25-mile and 50-mile Open TT (time trial) cups, together with the Veterans Best All Rounder award.

Following in his dad’s wheel tracks, son Jack won the 10-mile TT Junior championship in his first season with the club.

The dinner was held at The Granary in Sudbury, after the initial date, a month earlier, had to be postponed due to snow.

A good gathering of prize winners and members assembled for the presentation by club president and life member Geoff Morse of nearly 40 cups and medals won during the 2012 season.

Club chairman David Fenn spoke of another successful season and highlighted the three members currently training to become accredited British Cycling Coaches, which it is hoped will lead to more local youngsters taking up the sport.

During the year, four new club records were achieved on the Open Time Trial courses, which is always a good indication the competitive element within the club’s riders is progressing.

The Ladies’ Trophy went to Kirsty White, who performed well in the evening time trials and also created a new 30-mile Open TT club record.

Clubman of the Year went to chairman David Fenn, recognising the incredible amount of behind-the-scenes work during the year he does to keep the club in the limelight.

Veteran rider Simon Daw collected the trophy for Best All Rounder for 25, 50 and 100-mile TTs.

Simon Wright claimed the fastest time in the club’s 10 mile TT championship along with the Vets title with Barbara Law taking the fastest ladies time.

Also in the 10-mile championship, veteran Bob Bush pipped young rider Tom Littlewood for first place on Handicap.

There is more than 50 years’ difference between these riders and they both have the same desire to win.

Littlewood also won the 10-mile Juvenile TT trophy.

The 20-week-long Thursday Evening TT Series was decided in the closing stages and won by veteran Darren Rule from another of the club’s juniors, Charlie Pratt.

Mat Shotbolt was a clear winner in the four courses BAR with a string of late season fastest times.

The long distance trophy went to Peter Faulks with 5,161km ridden in organised Audax events throughout the country during the year.

During the evening, £140 was raised which will all be donated to the charity East Anglia’s Children’s Hospice.

n Sunday sees the club’s first organised event of the year with the running of the 22 mile Mad March Hilly Open Time Trial.

It starts at Lavenham, opposite the church, at 8am, passing through Newton, skirting Hadleigh and returning through Monks Eleigh before finishing back at Lavenham. A record entry of 44 riders from throughout East Anglia has been received and will include a good sprinkling of club members.