Earls Colne retain thetitle after epic battle

Latest sport news from the Suffolk Free Press, suffolkfreepress.co.uk, @sfpsudbury on Twitter
Latest sport news from the Suffolk Free Press, suffolkfreepress.co.uk, @sfpsudbury on Twitter
Share this article

Earls Colne came out of a three-way battle to be crowned Widdop Snooker League champions after the final two matches on Friday.

With Earls Colne playing Sible Hedingham and Haverhill playing Sudbury Snooker Club C, Colne, Sible and Haverhill all went into the climax of the campaign having a chance to win the title.

Earls Colne went into the final game of the season against Sible Hedingham knowing a draw would be enough to retain the league, but also aware a win for Sible would hand them the title.

The opening game saw Sible’s Steve Kane play Tony Newman from Earls Colne, with Newman eventually winning on the pink to give Colne the perfect start.

Sible took the next two frames after wins by George Williams, against Paul French, and Joe 
Kane Jnr, beating Luke Heard.

The night got worse for Colne as French lost to Joe Kane Jnr thanks to some brilliant long pots.

Sible were in the situation where a win in one of the last two would give them the league.

Newman played Joe Kane Jnr in the next frame and won.

Helped by a 30-break, but needing three snookers on the colours, Kane Jnr played some fantastic safety play, resulting in two fouls by Newman before the frame was eventually won.

The night finished with Williams facing Heard and, with a 56-point start and thanks to some excellent safety play by Williams, he kept Heard away from the table.

Heard kept plugging away with a couple of 20 breaks until the match and the title came down to the pink and black.

With a big crowd watching on, Williams had a half chance to give Sible the title on the pink, which he narrowly missed, leaving it over the middle pocket for Heard to snap up and pot the black to hand Colne the title.

Sible Hedingham are confirmed as runners-up after a better head-to-head record against Haverhill and Sudbury SC B.