Darren first home for Boxford in the capital

editorial image

More than 20 members of Boxford Bike Club took part in the first ever Prudential RideLondon-Surrey 100 cycle race on Sunday.

The club was represented by three teams, each team made up of four riders with other members securing individual places.

The 100-mile closed-road course took in the Surrey peaks of Leith Hill and Box Hill.

The Suffolk riders reported the crowds lining the streets being amazing all along the route, shouting and cheering support for.

Members raised money for various charities too including the Autistic Society, the Samaritans, local hospices and Cancer Research.

Finishing times varied with Boxford member Darren Rule (riding in Cycle Club of Sudbury colours) recording the club’s fastest time of the day of four hours and 18 minutes.

The Boxford A team of Matthew Shinn, Pete Hender, Matthew Froggatt and Rhodri Taylor, joined by individual rider Andy Taczynski, crossed the line on The Mall just after the six-hour-mark.

The B team of Alan Leeder, David Payne, Trevor Crisell and Kevin Bridge were joined by individual rider Niall Fitzgerald.

The C mixed team was made up of Paul Barnett, 
John Runnalls, Jane Kirkham and Debbie Hatrell, with the B and C team all coming 
back with respectable