Club marks season’s success

editorial image

The seniors’ section at Newton Green Golf Club marked the end of their season with a Texas scramble team competition, followed by lunch and presentation of annual awards.

Most successful recipient was Jeremy Hamp, who won the Ken Brown Memorial Trophy and the annual bogey-par award.

Chris Williams, who captains the men’s section of the main club, enjoyed his first year of qualifying as a senior by winning the singles cup, with Peter Webb taking the plate.

Other winners: Pairs, Frank Salt and Alan Monk. Brian Eady Summer Stableford, Kevin Knights. Senior pairs championship, Terry Scurr and Steve Street.

Eighteen teams played in the Texas scramble, with Williams collecting another first prize, teamed with Richard Lilley and Stuart Seaton with 64.1 points, followed by Fred French, Hamp and Tony Mitchell with 64.2 points and Patrick Laverty, Peter Webb and Tony Wiles with 66.4 points.