Claydon falls at semis

Share this article

Eleven players from Sudbury Town took part in the 2012/13 Suffolk Super Darts League singles competition in Kesgrave, with Brett Claydon going all the way to the semi-finals.

With games being played on nine boards, the action was constant throughout the evening with a high standard of performance.

Six Sudbury players faced games in the preliminary round, with four victors, as Dan Tatum, Ian Taylor, Brett Claydon and Jason Stalker all got through against difficult opposition — but the experienced duo of Mark Theobald and Steve Balls both fell at the first hurdle.

Into the first round, there were defeats for Dan Tatum, Toby Edwards, and Ian Taylor, and defending champion Ian Randles saw his reign come to an end with a deciding leg defeat to Haverhill youngster Jack Lewis. But there were big scalps for three Sudbury players, who all saw off current Suffolk county A team stars — Ross Theobald had a fine win over Stowmarket’s Jason Elvin, Jason Stalker played well on the main stage to knock out Wayne Hammond, and Brett Claydon showed his class to earn himself a good win over Stephen Burton.

Joining them in the last 32 were fellow Sudbury players Gary Butcher and Glenn Bentley.

Bentley maintained his good form to go into the second round with a win over team-mate Theobald, and another all-Sudbury clash saw Claydon win a superb match in the deciding leg against Stalker.

Butcher also went through, leaving three Sudbury players still standing in the last 16.

Bentley unfortunately found England youth star Arron Fairweather in good form and went out, as did Butcher, who fell at the hands of the impressive Lee Newson.

But Claydon once again came through a tense match to beat Lowestoft’s Tony Lincoln, and kept the Sudbury flag flying into the semi-finals when he dispatched Stow’s Graham Peck coming up with another classy display.

As the clock was ticking towards the early hours, the standard of darts didn’t drop, but the semi-final was a game too far for Claydon and he went down 3-1 to Phil Westwood from Ipswich.

The final was between Clapgate Lane Magpies’ Phil Westwood and Lee Newson of Saxmundham A

It was the in-form Newson who produced an astonishing performance to win 3-0 with a world-class average of 36.66 per dart to take the title.