Brave Law receives club accolade

editorial image

CYCLE Club Sudbury were able to celebrate another year of success at their presentation and prize giving evening.

Forty cups and trophies were awarded at the event in the Bull Hotel, Long Melford, by guest of honour Brian Webber.

Webber has just retired from CCS’s committee, in which he had served in most capacities since the club’s formation in 1979.

Club chairman David Fenn told the 50 riders and guests in attendance of the successes of the past season of open and domestic time trials and the burgeoning participation by CCS members in long distance Audax rides.

With membership now at 115, it reflects the national growth and popularity of cycling and shows a 100 per cent increase during the last five years for the club.

The main winners on the night were Rob Davies, who picked up the Vets Best All-Rounder Cup and the 50 and 25-mile time trial cups.

Stewart Kirk won the BAR cup for 25, 50 and 100 miles, together with the 100-mile champion’s shield.

Top lady in the club is undoubtedly Barbara Law, who not only picked a bronze medal in the age-related World Duathlon Championships, but also added the ladies 25-mile open TT bowl, the club 10-mile TT championship, and was awarded the Ladies Trophy for good measure.

Simon Wright was club 10-mile TT champion, Darren Rule the 10-mile TT champion on handicap, with Nick Baker winning the season-long evening points series by a margin of just six points with 822 points.

Tom Littlewood was the club’s 10-mile TT juvenile champion in his first season.

Mat Shotbolt won the Evening Points Series Best All-Rounder Cup with some winning late-season form.

Senior hill climb champion went to James Rush, with George Hoppit winning the junior title.

The Audax trophy was won by Peter Faulks who completed 8,066 km in Audax events throughout the year.

Clubman of the year was awarded to Roger Rush, with the prestigious Rider of the Year going to Jonathan Weatherley.

Weatherley is a relative newcomer to the Open Time Trial scene and showed remarkable improvement throughout his first season to merit this award.

During the evening £160 was raised for East Anglia’s Children’s Hospice.