Braintree League open as Rayne A lose

Share this article

A surprise defeat for league leaders Rayne A has thrown the Braintree Table Tennis League title race wide open.

Sible Hedingham were able to prevent Liberal’s A team from profiting greatly from the lapse, as they moved only two points closer after calling in two reserves.

Ian Hayden won his three singles and the B team’s Barry Pritchard two in their 6-4 win.

Champions Netts A turned out their strongest team of the season, including a first outing for Nikki Davison, and took all 10 sets from Black Notley B.

In Division Two, a two-person Cornard Nomads were beaten 8-2 by Rayne E.

In Division Three, Notley received something of a shock when Earls Colne’s Netts B turned up with men’s singles champions Paul Davison in their ranks.

Suitably inspired, youngsters Sam Johnson and Joe Nourse registered unexpected wins over the experienced Nick Readhead in their team’s 9-1 win.