History re-created as treble winners hand over trophies

editorial image
Share this article

Stoke-by-Clare Lion were presented with their trio of trophies by two members of the last team to do the treble in the Glemsford and District Cribbage League — way back in 1975.

Robin Brown and Arthur Wordley completed the 
historic treble of League Cup, Aggregate Shield and Knockout Cup 39 years previously with the now closed Glemsford Crown.

Wordley, now the captain of Glemsford Cock, and Brown, who now plays for the Long Melford Working Men’s Club, were asked to mark Stoke-by-Clare Lion’s historic triumph by handing them the trophies at the finals presentation night at Glemsford Social Club last Wednesday.

Wordley got his hands on the League Cup for the first time in 1975 — when it still had a top — but has since won it as captain of the Glemsford Cock for the last two years before the Lions’ triumph this year.

Before the trophies were handed out, 93 players — the biggest anyone could remember — turned out to take part in a crib drive across 23 tables with three couples all winning their six games and having to be seperated by aggregate scores.

Harry Walton and Steve Heffer came top of the pile to claim the £40 first prize, with Barry Pittock and Gary Latchford receiving £20 for being runners-up.

Jori Crijgsman and Phil Peden came in third place to claim £10.

n For a full list of cup 
winners, see Page 89