Home   Sport   Article

Darts League presentation night

Latest sport news from the Suffolk Free Press, suffolkfreepress.co.uk, @sfpsudbury on Twitter
Latest sport news from the Suffolk Free Press, suffolkfreepress.co.uk, @sfpsudbury on Twitter

The Sudbury and District Invitational Darts League (sponsored by JMP Services Ltd) holds its 2015 Summer League Finals and Presentation Night at the Sudbury Institute Club tonight (8.30pm start, spectators welcome).

Bay Horse will once again be presented with the JMP League Championship Trophy and Challenge Cup following a successful defence of both competitions.

LMWMC Rebels’ Ian Randles will be looking for a third successive victory in the Howdens Grand Prix singles. He goes into this year’s finals as the second seed and faces seventh seed Paul Stalker (Horse & Groom) in the quarter-finals of a competition that sees the top eight players following four qualifying events take part in a knockout format.

Top seed Jason Stalker (Horse & Groom) plays team-mate Andy Lawrence (eighth seed), and fourth seed Mark Theobald (Bay Horse) takes on fifth seed Andy Riddell (Horse & Groom).

The quarter-final line up is completed by third seed John Attwater (Bay Horse) who is up against sixth seed Malcolm Tonkins (LMWMC Rebels).

The finals of both the JMP League Pairs and Random Pairs competitions will also take place - with the League Pairs seeing 2014/15 winners Mark Theobald and Dan Tatum attempting to defend their crown against Martin Totman and Jason Stalker, while Ian Randles teams up with Colin How to face John Attwater and Jason Stalker in the Random Pairs.

n The Friday Charity Darts League finals night took place at Sudbury Snooker Club. Cheques were presented to the Marie Curie Cancer Care (£400), United Response at Stowupland (£400), East Anglian Air Ambulance (£300), Alzheimer’s Research (£300) and £200 to victims of the Sudbury fire. The team game was won by Cornard Five Bells, and the Captains’ Cup by Terry Sandford of LMWMC B, who beat Kevin Halls of Glemsford Black Lion.

The Trebles was won by the Institute A team of K Marsh, C Blowers and P Gordon, who came from behind to edge out Clare Club.

Neil Garnham and Nigel Tonkin of Institute A won the Doubles against Northcroft A.

The Ladies’ Singles was retained by Babs Whitehart of The Brook who beat Lisa Thrift of the Black Lion.

Sandford won his second Trophy of the night when he claimed the Men’s Singles against Roy Palmer of Northcroft A.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More