Home   Sport   Article

Bridges carries off singles trophy at the Finals Night

A well attended and successful Industrial Electrical Services Sudbury and District Bar Billiards League Finals Night was held at Stanningfield Red House.

The evening began with the semi-finals of the singles knock-out and the first game saw Jeff Bridges (Edwardstone Wild Horses) matched against Andy Hill (Memphis Belles).

With the former making an early break of 760, he was always in control and ran out a 2380-170 winner.

The other semi paired the local Kevin Tobin with Del Atton (Brewery Tap) and in a very close game the Tap player scored a last ball 200, at the second attempt, to just edge home 1040-980.

The final between Bridges and Atton was almost over as soon as it had started as the Wild Horse man opened with a break of 1140 leaving an almost impossible task for Atton.

He did his best to retrieve the situation but eventually succumbed, leaving his very consistent opponent winning 2910-1180 and a worthy winner of the singles title.

Prior to the singles final, spectators watched the doubles knock-out final between Andy Hill and Luke Cole-Watts (Memphis Belles) and Chris Cass & Dennis Watts (Mauldons Adders).

The young Belles pair gained a good early advantage and held the lead right to the end but were put on tenterhooks late on as Cass made a 490 break and could have possibly gone on to win the game, but failing to pot a ball allowed his opponents to clear the table and win 1420-1170.

Before the presentation of trophies, thanks were given to the ladies who had sold the raffle tickets and raised £131.50, and landlady Pauline for hosting the evening and providing a wonderful spread.

The league were very pleased to welcome Nigel Collings, managing director, of sponsor Industrial Electrical Services, who presented the trophies to the season’s winners.

The Eric Clarke Memorial Shield was awarded to Jeff Bridges (Edwardstone Wild Horses), with runner-up Jeremy Fry (The Bay Horse A).

Steve Richardson Doubles John Raine and Melvin Tilbury (Hadleigh Cock), runners-up Luke Cole-Watts and Andy Hill (Memphis Belles); Landlords Cup Chris Drake (The Bay Horse), runners-up John Henderson (Stanningfield Red House); Ladies KO Tracy Reeve (Edwardstone Wild Horses), runners-up Elaine Wright (Stanningfield Red House); Leading Lady Tracy Reeve; Gents Highest Break Steve Hale (The Bay Horse A); Ladies’ Highest Break Tracy Reeve; League Highest Game Score Steve Hale; League Singles Jeff Bridges, runner-up Del Atton (Brewery Tap); League Doubles Andy Hill and Luke Cole-Watts, runners-up Chris Cass and Dennis Watts; Player of the Year Luke Cole-Watts; Captain’s Cup Ken Drake (The Saracens); KO Cup Hadleigh Cock, runners-up Edwardstone Wild Horses and League Champions The Saracens, runners-up Hadleigh Cock.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More