Vote for new councillors

Share this article

Residents in Sudbury’s north ward and Bures and Bures Hamlet will choose new town and district councillors next month.

Elections for the vacancies left by former Sudbury town councillor Joanne Connah and Bures St Mary district councillor Peter Holbrook will be held alongside Suffolk County Council’s election on Thursday, May 2.

Standing for Sudbury Town Council are district councillor Simon Barrett (Conservative), Luke Cresswell (Labour), Teresa Bishop (Green Party) and Cathy Press (Liberal Democrats). Mr Cresswell and Mrs Bishop are also vying to be Sudbury’s county councillor.

Miss Connah, 23, resigned from the role in February, having cited university studies and poor health for not attending nearly three-quarters of her town council meetings since being elected in June 2012.

James Cartlidge (Conservative), Hadley French (Labour) and Laura Smith (Green Party) will contest the Bures St Mary district vacancy.

Mr Holbrook, 70, who spent 14 years on Babergh District Council, had planned to step down since before a merger between the council and Mid Suffolk was rejected by voters.

Glemsford Parish Council has two vacancies but, as no names have been put forward, there will be no election and interested parties can be co-opted.