Home   News   Article

School achievements set to be honoured at county council’s Raising the Bar Awards

Suffolk County Council ANL-141006-173324001
Suffolk County Council ANL-141006-173324001

The achievements of pupils, teachers, schools and many more are set to be honoured at Suffolk County Council’s second Raising the Bar Awards.

Some 60 shortlisted finalists across 20 categories have been invited to the awards ceremony, at Ashlar House in Bury St Edmunds, on Thursday, June 25.

The awards ceremony will be a celebration of education in Suffolk and will include a performance from Suffolk soprano singer Laura Wright.

The winners of 20 award categories will be announced at the ceremony, including accolades for children and young people, people working in education, education settings, business partners, collaboration and innovation projects, and an unsung hero.

Raising the Bar is the council’s response to tackling levels of education attainment.

Councillor Lisa Chambers, cabinet member for education and skills said: “Celebrating success is an important part of Raising the Bar, and these awards are an opportunity to recognise the shining lights across education and learning in Suffolk.

“We received hundreds of nominations from across the county, involving amazing people, places and projects. The judges have had an incredibly hard job to find the finalists, my congratulations to all those who have been nominated.

“This year we have increased the number of awards for the children and young people to fully recognise those at the heart of education. Many of our young finalists have overcome significant obstacles and challenges, and shown amazing bravery and determination.”

Nominations were open to all publicly funded educational establishments in Suffolk (or partners working with them): early years including child-minders, nurseries and pre-schools, local authority maintained schools, colleges, academies, free schools and pupil referral units.

For more information about the awards, the categories and the shortlisted finalists visit www.rtbawards.com.

The shortlist of award categories and finalists:

Rising Star of the Year

Early Years

Sarah Waller - Barnham Primary

Anders Bester - Moulton Primary

Oliver Whittington - Oulton Broad Primary


Jake Meek - Holbrook Primary

Faith Spurgeon - Oulton Broad Primary

Matthew Jones - Pot Kiln Primary, Sudbury


Rhys Turnbull - Priory School

Abbie Wood - Education Other than at School (EOTAS)

Charlotte Ward - IES UK Breckland

Post 16

Samantha Whitby - Suffolk One

Jamie Shepherd - West Suffolk College

Laura Bizzey - Suffolk One

Young Achiever of the Year


Jake Snell - Oulton Broad Primary

Aidan Caulfield - Causton Junior School

Joshua Branley - Place Farm Primary Academy


Rebecca Miller - Claydon High

Charlotte Pyther - Claydon High

Irna Manguerra-Bridle - Samuel Ward Academy

Post 16

Vivien Saunders - Lancaster University

Amber Harris - West Suffolk College

Geena Clark - Apprentice at Waveney District Council

Inspirational Young Person of the Year


Ivan Pawlewski - Holbrook Primary

Genny Booth - St Mark’s Catholic Primary

Wiktoria Stankiewicz - Laureate Community Primary


Ben Mullender - Old Warren House PRU, Lowestoft

Alex Heasman-Bailey - Claydon High

Ross McCrory - Thomas Gainsborough School

Post 16

Amy Smith - Newmarket Academy

Maisie Price - West Suffolk College

Simone Butler-Mayer - Farlingaye High

Educational Setting of the Year

Bows and Arrows Group

Melton Day Nursery

Oulton Broad Primary School

Excellence in Governance

Governing Body - Springfield Junior School

Management Committee - First Base Bury St Edmunds

Toby Robins - Henley Primary School

Excellence in Teaching

Claire Edmeades - Forest Academy

Hannah Legood Stradbroke Primary

Sandra Bigley St Margaret’s Primary Ipswich

Excellence in Middle Leadership

Derek Johnson - West Suffolk College

Kelly Holmes - Oulton Broad Primary School

Barbara Newberry – Warren School

Support Staff of the Year

Louise Palmer - Laureate Community Primary

Julie Mayo - Ormiston Denes Academy

Jackie Garrod - Britannia Primary & Nursery

Unsung Hero

Lorraine Welham - Stowmarket High

Anna Davies - Long Melford Primary

Samantha Barber - Stone Lodge Academy

Business Partner of the Year

Ian Twinley - John Grose

Havebury Housing Partnership

Claritie Community Interest Company

Excellence in Collaboration

Melton Day Nursery

North Suffolk Skills Academy

Otley and Witnesham Federated Primary Schools

Innovation of the Year

Conservatoire East - West Suffolk College

Valerie James – Duke of Edinburgh’s Award at Westbridge PRU

Sandcastle Playgroup

Educational Leader of the Year

Jo Kidby – Nacton CEVC Primary

Michael Lynch - Springfield Junior School

Sarah Skinner - Claydon High

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More