Home   News   Article

New councillor Jan Osborne named in Babergh senior team

Jan Osborne ENGANL00120110615085530
Jan Osborne ENGANL00120110615085530

With a single party in majority control for the first time in its 42-year history, Babergh District Council has announced its new portfolio leaders, including new district councillor Jan Osborne.

On the council for the first time, Jan Osborne, who is also a Sudbury town councillor, has been named portfolio holder for health and wellbeing and communities.

The district elections on May 7 resulted in the Conservatives winning 31 of 43 seats.

As a result of their unprecedented majority, the Conservatives have formed a new administration and have renamed the previous ‘lead member’ roles as portfolio holder positions to align them with their equivalents at Mid Suffolk District Council.

At Tuesday’s full council the council’s new senior team was approved.

Jennie Jenkins will remain as council leader and portfolio holder for finance and resources, Frank Lawrenson will be portfolio holder for environment, David Holland will come in as portfolio holder for housing, Simon Barrett is to be portfolio holder for growth and the local economy including planning, Peter Patrick is the portfolio holder for public access while Nick Ridley has become chairman of the council.

Jennie Jenkins said: “Firstly, I would like to thank all councillors from all parties who served their communities so well during the previous four years.

“Much has been achieved thanks to them, especially in their support for the new ways of working with our partner Mid Suffolk District Council.

“Secondly, the election of a Conservative majority allows us to build upon this track record of innovation and indeed up the pace with a renewed sense of confidence and purpose.”

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More