Home   News   Article

Jenkins remains as Babergh leader

Cllr Jennie Jenkins ANL-150508-153211001
Cllr Jennie Jenkins ANL-150508-153211001

Councillor Jennie Jenkins was confirmed as leader of Babergh District Council at today’s full council meeting, while Simon Barrett, Sudbury South ward member, also continues in his role as deputy leader.

The role of chairman was handed to Peter Burgoyne, while vice chairman will be Peter Beer, member for Great Cornard South.

Mrs Jenkins, ward member for Leavenheath, said: “I would like to thank all of the members who have worked so hard over the last year for Babergh. It has been a hugely busy, challenging, and rewarding first year as a Conservative-led council.

“This political direction for Babergh has given us a renewed sense of purpose and confidence - the pace with which we have been working over the last 12 months has rapidly increased and I am confident we are delivering positive outcomes for our communities and businesses.

“We plan to further build upon these key foundations by fully endorsing Babergh and Mid Suffolk’s Joint Strategic Plan refresh. We hope this will show how we plan to deliver even more positive changes over the next five years.

“Babergh will be working closely with our partner Mid Suffolk District Council and continuing to build upon the transformation that has seen us well on the way to becoming an increasingly agile and more resilient workforce in the face of ongoing financial cutbacks.

“We believe by working in this way, we are more able to deliver the sustainable economic growth needed to provide the jobs and housing our communities need, want and deserve.

“Of course, there may be more difficult times ahead but I am confident that Babergh will be at the forefront in taking all opportunities afforded to us, not least those we expect to emerge from the developing East Anglia Devolution Deal.”

The senior team of portfolio holders was also approved at the meeting.

Housing Delivery will be led by Alan Ferguson, business growth and increased productivity will be led by Mr Barrett, while will be Jan Osborne, ward member for Sudbury East, will be in charge of community capacity building and engagement.

The enabled and efficient organisation portfolio will be led by Peter Patrick, assets and investment will be under the charge of Mrs Jenkins and Waldingfield ward representative Frank Lawrenson will take control of the environment portfolio.

Appointments of members with special responsibilities were also endorsed, with Mrs Jenkins taking control of housing delivery, business growth and increased productivity will be headed by David Holland, member for Sudbury South, community capacity building and engagement will be led by Margaret Maybury, representative for Waldingfield, Lee Parker, ward member for Bures St Mary will lead the an enabled and efficient organisation area, assets, Nick Ridley will head investment, while environment will be led by John Ward.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More