Discover the old symbols

A NEW book giving an insight into wall symbols and coats of arms has gone on sale in Sudbury.

Streets of Suffolk, which has been produced by the Suffolk Heraldry Society and catalogues the numerous architecture that can be seen on buildings in the area, is available from the Tourist Information Centre in Gaol Lane.

Among the heraldry covered is a stone carved symbol dating back to 1867, which is found in Station Road and shows two shields representing Suffolk and Essex regiments.

The book, which costs £5, also features Long Melford, Cavendish and Kersey.